Books Thriller YA

Man Down by James Goodhand [Spotlight]

Kaili
Man Down

Book: Man Down

Author: James Goodhand

Publisher: Penguin

Genre: YA Thriller/Drama

Length: 391 Pages

Publishing: 3rd March 2022

Amazon

I want to thank The Write Reads, James Goodhand, and Penguin for the opportunity with this tour. Ya thrillers are one of my favorite books to read. This YA Thriller has a very interesting concept and deals with toxic masculinity that makes you really feel for Will.

About Man Down

Will Parks needs to man up.

A man stands. A man fights. A man bleeds.

These are the first lessons you learn in a town where girls are objects, words are weak and fists do the talking.

Will’s more at home in the classroom than the gym, and the most important woman in his life is his gran. So how can a boy who’s always backed away from a fight become the hero who saves the day?

Because a disaster is coming. One that Will can prevent. But only if he learns the most important lesson of all: sometimes to step up, you have to man down. 

A searingly powerful exploration of toxic masculinity, perfect for fans of Juno Dawson or They Both Die at the End.

About the Author

Man Down

James lives in Surrey with his wife and newborn son.

He took up writing three years ago. A mechanic by day, much of his work has been written at an oil-stained workbench whilst ignoring a queue of broken cars in need of his attention.

James is also a keen musician, regularly gigging as a rhythm & blues pianist.

​James’ debut YA novel, Last Lesson, tackling teen mental illness and toxic masculinity, was published in spring 2020 by Penguin Random House Children’s.

Thanks for checking out my spotlight! If you’re wanting more YA thrillers to read make sure to check them out here.

Subscribe to Owl Book World
I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join over hundreds of visitors who are getting our email for book recommendations, reading challenges, and insider scoop.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Recommended Posts

2024 book releases
Book Discussion Book releases

August 2024 book releases

Hey everyone and welcome to Owl Book World! Today I want to talk about August 2024 book releases that you should add to your TBR! Can you guys believe that it’s almost August already? I know I can’t. I feel like 2024 has gone by fast. Almost in the blink of an eye. With that […]

Kaili 
Books Contemporary YA

Admission by Julie Buxbaum [book review]

Book: Admission By: Julie Buxbaum Published: December 1, 2020 Publisher: Delacorte Press Pages: 342 Genre: YA Contemporary Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links. What this means is that if you purchase anything through the link I have provided for you then I will earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. Please […]

Kaili 
Books Thriller

The Perfect Sister by Stephanie DeCarolis

Book: The Perfect Sister By: Stephanie DeCarolis Publisher: Bantam Published: July 16, 2024 Genre: Thriller Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links. What this means is that if you purchase anything through the links that I have provided for you then I will earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. Please consider […]

Kaili 

Leave A Comment